Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Office of the President

office of the president

Kayse M. Shrum, D.O., President

President Shrum is a native Oklahoman. She earned her doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine and has completed executive leadership and management training programs at Harvard University and Stanford University. In 2013, Dr. Shrum was named president of OSU Center for Health Sciences (OSU-CHS), becoming the youngest and first female president and dean of a medical school in the state of Oklahoma. She joined the OSU-CHS medical school faculty in 2002. In 2011, she was named provost of OSU-CHS and dean of the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine and served in that capacity until her promotion to president in 2013. President Shrum holds the George Kaiser Family Foundation Chair in Medical Excellence and Service and the Saint Francis Health System Endowed Chair of Pediatrics. In March 2019, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt appointed her to his Cabinet as Secretary of Science and Innovation.

Under her leadership, OSU Center for Health Sciences has experienced unprecedented growth. Student enrollment has more than doubled as new academic programs have been established to meet the healthcare workforce needs of Oklahoma. She also spearheaded the construction of the A.R. and Marylouise Tandy Medical Academic Building, a state-of-the-art learning facility that houses Oklahoma’s largest and most technologically advanced hospital simulation center. A strong supporter of collaborative partnerships, President Shrum worked with Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Bill John Baker and his administration to establish the nation’s first tribally affiliated medical school, the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine at the Cherokee Nation, which is set to open in fall 2020.

During her tenure, she has made addressing the health care workforce shortage in rural Oklahoma a top priority for OSU-CHS. A fervent champion of rural health and primary care medicine, President Shrum led the strategic efforts to create a sustainable rural primary care physician pipeline program. President Shrum launched award-winning high school recruiting programs like Operation Orange and Blue Coat to White Coat, established the Rural Medical Track curriculum, and expanded the number of residency training programs in rural Oklahoma by securing support from the Oklahoma Legislature, Oklahoma Health Care Authority and Oklahoma Tobacco Settlement Endowment Trust.

President Shrum is active in a variety of professional and charitable organizations. She is a board member of the Children’s Hospital Foundation at Saint Francis, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma, PLICO, Oklahoma State University Medical Authority and Trust, Women for OSU Council, and Texas A&M Center for Optimizing Rural Health. President Shrum has been recognized for her leadership and many contributions to improving health outcomes in Oklahoma. She was named a 2018 Newsmaker by the Association for Women in Communications Tulsa Chapter, a finalist for the Journal Record’s 2018 Woman of Year award, and a 2013 inductee into the Connors State College Athletic Hall of Fame. She also received the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association’s Outstanding & Distinguished Service Award in 2014 and the Tulsa Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women’s Pinnacle Award for Health in 2012.

Office of the President

1111 W. 17th Street
Tulsa, OK 74107



Amy Green
Executive Assistant